Albemarle Regional Solid Waste Management Authority


Albemarle Regional Solid Waste Management Authority is a county-level legal entity serving the Counties of Perquimans, Chowan, Gates, Dare, Currituck, Hyde, and Tyrrell. This area currently has approximately 107,000 permanent residents and several hundred thousand visitors each year. Through a 26-year contract signed in 2009 with Republic Services of NC, LLC, the Authority aims to provide cost-effective and efficient solid waste disposal for the region.

All municipal wastes and most of the construction and demolition debris from the Authority’s members are landfilled in the East Carolina Environmental Landfill in Bertie County (owned by Republic Services of NC). The waste is primarily sent there through the three transfer stations located in Dare County, Currituck County, and Perquimans County. The towns and counties operate their own solid waste and recycling collection programs.

The Authority conducts centralized solid waste billing, data collection and reporting, educational services, and technical assistance for local programs.

Transfer Stations

Contact ARSWMA


For more information contact:

Mr. Ralph Hollowell, Executive Director
Phone: (252) 338-4490   Fax: (252) 337-7921

Kathy Waters, Billing


Albemarle Regional Solid Waste Management Authority
110 Kitty Hawk Lane
PO Box 189
Elizabeth City, NC 27907-0189